NS Designs

Discussion in 'Basses [BG]' started by bassman1820, Feb 6, 2019.

1. I have been playing bass for many years. See that as I am old!! My main player is a MM Stingray but for my bday my wife got me a NS Designs Wav4 that I had been eyeballing. I really do like this new bass it has a sound that none of my collection even resembles. Even my wife says it’s distinctly different. My ear tells me it sounds a lot like a fretless but I am wondering if any other TBers have tried this bass?

AstralBirth and Feralhog like this.
  2. Brain Fog

Brain Fog

Sep 12, 2017
    Seattle
    I have not played one, but I'd like to hear more about your experience with it.

3. Jeff Scott

Jeff Scott Rickenbacker guru..........

Apr 11, 2006
    Out there!
    I had a CR4M years ago. Nice bass but, yes, it did sound too much like my Zon fretless basses to bother with the upright, really.

Jeff---NS-EUB-33.jpg

MateoG78 likes this.
  4. Zooberwerx

Zooberwerx Gold Supporting Member

Dec 21, 2002
    Virginia Beach, VA
    Like to try a Wav5 if I can ever find one.

Ooops! Found a couple on Reverb.

Riis

Last edited: Mar 2, 2019
  5. LenMinNJ

LenMinNJ

Dec 22, 2010
    [Updated 3/6/2019, 1:30 PM]

I recently bought an NS Design WAV5 Radius bass guitar. It was built in Indonesia, in 2016.

I've been playing high quality basses for many years. In comparison, this WAV5 has been somewhat of a let-down.

It has a few features that I really like. I like the idea of having a humbucker and a piezo pickup. I like the way it uses standard strings instead of the bothersome double-ball strings on the old Steinbergers. I like the way the radiused body feels, and I like the shape of the neck.

It's also pretty light weight: 7.4 pounds. In contrast, my Warwick Thumb NT5 weighs 11 pounds. Big difference!

My main complaint is with the electronics/pickups. And then I feel that the overall workmanship is not as good as it should be.