other instruments?

Discussion in 'Off Topic [DB]' started by chrismmc, Oct 29, 2004.

1. Anybody play any other instruments besided DB and BG?What?
    I am learning the melodica...
  2. Marcus Johnson

Marcus Johnson

Nov 28, 2001
    I don't currently play enough BG to call myself a bass guitarist. I do a few sessions here and there, maybe a half dozen a year.

Guitar...played it professionally a looooong time ago, along with bass, but the bass work just took over. Everybody's a guitar player ;)

Piano...enough to write from, that's it.

I majored in trumpet in college. Lip is officially gone. Really enjoyed that while it lasted. It seems there are a lot of double bassists who used to play trumpet.
  3. Chris Fitzgerald

Chris Fitzgerald Student of Life Staff Member Administrator

Oct 19, 2000
    Louisville, KY
    I was a jazz pianist before picking up DB. I hope to have time to become one again someday, but right now the bass demands my attention. :)
  4. Jeff Bonny

Jeff Bonny Supporting Member

Nov 20, 2000
    Vancouver, BC
    I'm completely consumed by the NS Designs electric cello I got about six months ago.
  5. Drums are the other instrument that I have any proficiency on (other than DB and EB), but I'm trying to learn piano and tried saxophone for a while until my jaw disagreed with it.
  6. bdengler

Jan 23, 2000
    New Albany, Ohio
    I'm taking some bass viol da gamba lessons; it's like having a cello with frets. I practice the piano about three times a week.
  7. Alexi David

Alexi David

May 15, 2003
    I play piano, albeit a bit sloppily. I learn tunes and compose on it. I also play Hammond Organ.

I can play Rock Drums too! And some guitar, harmonica, vocals.

Can anyone tell what I was like as a kid before I took up DB? :bassist: