Dismiss Notice

Psst... Ready to join TalkBass and start posting, make new friends, sell your gear, and more?  Register your free account in 30 seconds.

Patitucci - with Corea last night

Discussion in 'Bassists [BG]' started by Mike Flynn, Jul 13, 2004.

1. Just a quick review and a few thoughts of JP's performance last night with the Corea Elekrtic band - overall JP played a flawless gig, even when he was sight reading some of the new material's heads, with his music on the floor, very impressive. He played half a dozen stunning solos, and yes, Got A Match was absolutely blinding, with the whole band, Gambale in particular, going nuts.

My criticisms however are to do with the sound. As a bassist I'm always worried that even if I have a good on-stage sound - that what the audience is hearing isn't as nice. Basically when JP soloed, he obviously had a different EQ and a smidhge of reverb added - making his Yamaha sound more like a classical guitar than a bass. Like I say his playing was brilliant when it came to the chops, but for me JP doesn't always play the nicest bass lines on electric, I think his double bass playing is better overall, and he defintely plays nicer bass lines on the upright. This wasn't helped by the sound of bass peaking and dipping, with very little definition on the quieter passages, and too much booming bottom end - overall not very tight sounding, which was a shame because he did play a brilliant set.