Dismiss Notice

Psst... Ready to join TalkBass and start posting, make new friends, sell your gear, and more?  Register your free account in 30 seconds.

Pattitucci recordings??

Discussion in 'Recordings [BG]' started by Da_Niet, Oct 5, 2003.

1. Da_Niet

Da_Niet

Jan 23, 2003
    California
    Ok, all, I'm new to the Pattitucci bass playing thing. I am admittedly biased to Jaco, Paul Jack-son, and a few others that I can't recall at the moment. Anyways, for someone who is curious about all the news about Mr. John Pattitucci, what CDs would you recommend me to check out of his that isn't too over the top in technical feats(I'm familiar with Wooten and Manring), and is more about just good straight ahead jazz done on an electric(not acoustic) bass?

2. I loved his work with Robben Ford. I also enjoy "Heart of the Bass'......... hope this helps.

[​IMG]

;) Treena

3. JimK

JimK

Dec 12, 1999
    You mentioned electric playing, right?
    Most of Patitucci's solo deiscs are a mixed bag of electric & acoustic basses.

That said-
    I like Patitucci's debut & Sketchbook(both probably OOP).
    Chick Corea's Elektic Band's albums may have more(solely) 'electric' bass happenin'.

Patitucci has also played on various GRP/the-label mates projects like Eric Marienthal's solo almums(saxophone with the Elektic Band)...if possible, look for Crossroads from 1990 & Round Trip from 1989...tunes like "Round Trip", "Moonwalk", & "Crash Test Dummies" are nicely played grooves in an '90s electric Jazz vibe.

If you like Jaco & Paul Jackson-
    Don't forget about Tribal Tech(Face First, Rocket Science, etc) + Gary Willis' solo albums(No Sweat & Bent).

4. JimK

JimK

Dec 12, 1999
    Treena-
    Refresh my memory...Robben Ford & JP? Where?

5. You actually couldn't go wrong starting with John Patitucci's self titles recording from about 1987.
    His composing contained much and many of Chick Corea's influence.