1. Please take 30 seconds to register your free account to remove most ads, post topics, make friends, earn reward points at our store, and more!  

People who started on a bass?

Discussion in 'Basses [BG]' started by Cz93, Oct 9, 2009.

1. Cz93

Cz93

Jan 4, 2009
    Well, it seems to be that most bass players that i read about have actually started playing guitar before they played the bass, but i want to know how many people actually started on a bass. Also, if you think it helped/hurt you in learning the bass.

And personally i started on the bass im not sure if it helped me actually starting on a bass or not so much.

well thanks for feedback!

2. J. Crawford

J. Crawford

Feb 15, 2008
    OH/WV
    I started on the bass.

I honestly dont know if it was a positive or negative because I cant go back and play something else beforehand! ;)

3. WalterBush

WalterBush

Feb 27, 2005
    Yuma, Az
    Full disclosure, I'm a certified Fender technician working in a music store that carries Fender, Yamaha, and Ibanez products among others.
    I started on bass. Sort of. I bought a book called, "How to Play Bass Guitar" and learned the notes on my dad's acoustic guitar.

It didn't take long before I started expirimenting with the actual guitar, but my intention was always to learn bass. I think it was only a couple of months before I got my first bass guitar.

I think it was definitely positive. It takes a certain mindset to specifically decide that you're willing to support others primarily rather than be in the spotlight, and it shows in the way bassists play bass rather than the way guitarists tend to either over simplify or over complicate bass lines. That's been my observation and opinion, anyway.

EDIT: I played clarinet for four years before playing either, but even then I found my way to bass clarinet within a year of starting. I like it when the room rumbles around me.

4. kcole4001

kcole4001

Oct 7, 2009
    Nova Scotia