Dismiss Notice

Psst... Ready to join TalkBass and start posting, make new friends, sell your gear, and more?  Register your free account in 30 seconds.

philosophy of sound

Discussion in 'Amps, Mics & Pickups [DB]' started by Marc Piane, Feb 7, 2005.

1. Marc Piane

Marc Piane

Jun 14, 2004
    Chicago
    I was talking to an older player the other day about the 'my bass only louder' concept. He just looked at me like I was nuts. He told me that he has never heard an amplified sound that sounded as detailed as the acoustic sound of a bass. He said that this is due to the fact that the sound of the instrument is coming from all of it, not just the bridge and the face. I work as a studio engineer and knew this. He then went on to tell me that if you are going to play amplified, try to make your amplified sound as unique and interesting as your bass. Not 'your bass only louder' but 'your amplified sound'.

I got to thinking about that and the sounds that we attribute to certain players, Dave Holland, Eddie Gomez, are at least partial mixes of mic and pickup.

I curious to hear what people think.

2. fdeck

fdeck Supporting Member Commercial User

Mar 20, 2004
    Madison WI
    HPF Technology LLC
    I try to get an amplified sound that works for the musical style, the band, the venue, my bass, and my playing. Having an individual "signature sound" is not important, because it probably happens on its own. Making it sound like an upright is important because I like the upright tone. But it is not the only consideration.

Note that I am qualified to comment on the philosophy of sound, since I am a Doctor of Philosophy. Glad this degree is finally good for something. :hyper: