1. Please take 30 seconds to register your free account to remove most ads, post topics, make friends, earn reward points at our store, and more!  

Played The New(?) Fender Fretless @ GC

Discussion in 'Basses [BG]' started by SurferJoe46, Apr 9, 2010.

1. Not sure how "'new' it is, but it is to me.

GC had one a few weeks ago on the floor stand and I forgot to try it out.

Well - today during a trip there for a few different reasons - I found one hanging and pulled it down and plugged it into the B-450 Acoustic combo, just like I have, for a trial spin.

I was impressed with it - a little odd to not feel frets where they should be and I thought the strings were a little whiz-zy, but overall (and except for the weight) it was impressive.

It made all the right sounds after I figgered the knobs and settings - I must say there was more tone/modeling/intonation in that Fender than I've seen in any other Fender for sounds and tones before - but again I am not a Fender expert.

This bass had four knobs though - so maybe it wasn't anything special - I don't know Fenders all that well - but I generally like it a lot.

I'm still out for advisement and consideration on things Fender - having a pair of Ps (MIJ & MIA) that I don't really like much, but I know that in a bar fight they'd be my weapon of choice. This was to me, my idea of a pretty good buy.

I THINK it was offered at $349.99, but the online ad says more - LOTS more! Very sure it was not a USED price too!

The fret board (can you call it a 'fret board' if there aren't any frets? It only has cheater lines) was a little too wide for my playing comfort, but that could be relearned I guess. However I find it was a lot narrower at the top than my older Ps - so maybe it's an improvement I could live with.

Oh - and it's heavy - but I said that already. I just don't want anyone to forget that it's heavy. .

For the first time in my life I am quite impressed with a Fender. Did I say that? :meh: