1. Please take 30 seconds to register your free account to remove most ads, post topics, make friends, earn reward points at our store, and more!  

Playing Again After a 30 Year Hiatus

Discussion in 'Welcome Forum - New Member Intros' started by Alpedhuez55, Dec 10, 2017.

1. Alpedhuez55

Alpedhuez55

Dec 9, 2017
    Taylors SC
    Hi, my name is Mike. I am originally from the Boston area but now live in Greenville, SC. Back in the 80s, I used to play Bass. I gigged a few times in different punk and metal bands mostly as a fill in. I had a couple of Washburns back in the day. I took a few of lessons but was pretty much self taught.

Well, now I am 51 and looking to start again. I probably went a little overboard, but I got two basses, a Scheckter Stilletto Elite 4 and an Ibanez SRX400. Both were good deals and kind of spoke to me. I just grabbed a small Ibanez Prometian 20 Watt to play them through.

A couple of observations, the the new entry level stuff is much better and cheaper than it was in the 80s. I went the used route and got a little more bang for the buck with the basses, but would have had no issues with a $200 Ibanez or, squier Toby Standard. And you can get some nice gigworthy powerful amps for a lot less money. And they are so much lighter too!!

As for playing... It is not like riding a bike for me. I used to mostly play along to stuff and learn songs. I should have paid more attention to things like scales or technique. I am trying to learn a better way know. And from a physical standpoint, my fingers are killing me!!! I need to build up some strength again.

Hopefully I will develop better habits this time around!!!

Last edited: Dec 10, 2017
  2. Good luck. The get started sticky in the General Instruction section would be time well spent. There is some good information in that thread.

I do best with books and recommend the book Bass Guitar for Dummies. It is a great get started instruction book. Most of what I now do came from Dummies.