Dismiss Notice

Psst... Ready to join TalkBass and start posting, make new friends, sell your gear, and more?  Register your free account in 30 seconds.

Please explain "clipping"

Discussion in 'Amps and Cabs [BG]' started by acapella rapeme, Dec 12, 2005.

1. acapella rapeme

acapella rapeme

Dec 9, 2005
    Can someone tell me what that red "clip" light on my amp actually means? My first instinct is to think, oh no! I'm breaking it! whenever that comes on, but i got to wondering is it just like distortion on a guitar amp? Will clipping harm my amp in any way or does it just sound bad?
    P.S. The amp I'm referring to is a Fender Bassman 150 combo, if it makes any difference

2. Richard Lindsey

Richard Lindsey

Mar 25, 2000
    Metro NYC
    No offense, but you should start by doing a search; this has been discussed endlessly on this forum. Then, if your questions aren't answered, ask again.

3. I'm no engineer, but as I recall, clipping can do damage to your speakers more than your amp.

When clipping occurs, the peak of the sine wave is chopped off. Unlike compression which is supposed to squeeze & bend the analog signal to a lower level, clipping chops off everything above a certain amplitude, and part of the signal is lost.

Because a low watt & cheap amp will clip before a higher watt amp.....a low watt amp can damage high watt rated speakers way more easily than a high watt amp at similar volumes, and, because the low watt amp will hit its distortion threshold long before the high watt amp

Hope this gives a little light........cheers :)

4. Richard Lindsey

Richard Lindsey

Mar 25, 2000
    Metro NYC
    This isn't quite true, as has also been explained at great length on this forum ....;)

5. Thanks Richard......I did start my post with "I'm not an engineer", therefore someone who was could easily pick holes.
    Thanks for taking the time to help out......... :meh:

6. billfitzmaurice

billfitzmaurice Commercial User

Sep 15, 2004
    New Hampshire