1. Please take 30 seconds to register your free account to remove most ads, post topics, make friends, earn reward points at our store, and more!  

Problems with uneven and boomy sound using RS II

Discussion in 'Amps, Mics & Pickups [DB]' started by hgrind, Mar 4, 2008.

1. hgrind

hgrind

Dec 16, 2005
    Otta, Norway
    I'm using the Upton RS II on my upright bass. I run it through a Phil Jones Bass Buddy to the mixer. I get a little boomy sound sometimes and the sound is very uneven across the register. I can hear what I play on the E, A, D strings and an open G, but as I move up the G string, the sound disappears more and more, and I'm not able to hear what I play in my in-ear monitor or through a PA-system. My bass is very even across the register, and if the acoustic sound would be reproduced when amplified, this shouldn't be a problem.

What could be wrong? I'm not very good with technical stuff, eq etc.

Thanks in advance for any help!

2. drurb

drurb Oracle, Ancient Order of Rass Hattur; Mem. #1, EPC

Apr 17, 2004
    If you get a boomy sound only "sometimes," it sounds like the fit of the pickup is variable. It should be quite snug but movable. Too loose is not good, too tight is not good. If it is a bit too loose, a single layer of scotch tape over one (or two) surfaces can work wonders. If it is too tight, further sanding is in order.

The sound will also vary as a function of which side of the pickup is facing up. Try flipping it over. A less-boomy sound should be achieved with the "R" facing away from the body.

The RS II definitely has a "sweet spot." Change the position of the pickup slightly until you find it. After you do, I suggest marking the pickup with a pencil so that you can return it to that position.

Be sure to use the "passive" input on the Bass Buddy. That is the one that the manual lists as having a 4M-ohm input.

Hope this helps.

3. bolo

bolo

May 29, 2005
    Apex, NC