Properly EQing your amp and bass.

Discussion in 'Amps and Cabs [BG]' started by The1bassist06, Oct 21, 2013.

1. Hi there friends, I have been playing bass for 7 years now and consider myself a pretty solid bass player with my playing and music theory. As emberassing as this is I never learned to properly EQ my bass amp and don't really understand how to. I normally just turn the knobs and fiddle with them till I get a tone I like.

So my question is could someone explain how to properly EQ my bass amp?
  2. hreggi

Mar 24, 2012
    I do it the same way you do, :) just fiddle around 'till I like the sound.
  3. B-string

B-string Supporting Member

After you have the tone you want on stage, step out front and see if the audience hears the same. Readjust if necessary. Those controls are to help you get "your" sound heard. If bass is boomy and muddy, cut the bass. If you are weak and undefined in the mix boost mids.
  4. Floyd Eye

Floyd Eye Banned

Feb 21, 2010
    St. Louis
    That's pretty much it. Fiddle with knobs til' you're happy. Just remember to EQ your bass for the whole stage, not just you playing alone. Also, I find it is way more useful to not have a PEQ or if you have one, leave it flat, but that's probably just me.
  5. zortation

Dec 26, 2011
    Toronto, ON
    What you should be doing is fiddling with the knobs until you get a sound you like.
  6. Alright thank you for the help everyone. I hear people using terms like scooping the mids and stuff like that. What exactly does that mean?
  7. Floyd Eye

Floyd Eye Banned

Feb 21, 2010
    St. Louis
    Scooping is basically dropping them. It may sound cool alone, but with guitars and drums and all that you will want to push the mids, especially low mids, up some. You have to listen to the kick drum and stay out of the way of it too.
  8. Oh this is rich! Thread subscribed!
  9. Floyd Eye

Floyd Eye Banned

Feb 21, 2010
    St. Louis