1. Please take 30 seconds to register your free account to remove most ads, post topics, make friends, earn reward points at our store, and more!  

Quesion about Neo Cabs

Discussion in 'Amps and Cabs [BG]' started by DeiseBassman, Nov 30, 2010.

1. DeiseBassman

DeiseBassman

Nov 30, 2010
    Ireland
    I guess this is more of a wondering than a question. But, I owned GK Neo cabs up until recently but they just never got along with my ear for various reasons. I could never quite pinpoint the term of what it was that put me off them until a friend tried them out and he said they're very "nasal" sounding. This clicked with me straight away as I found the cabs do give quite a honk on the treble end of things even with the tweeter all the way off. So I've been shopping around for new cabs for a couple of months now and I'm still pondering Neo cabs from other brands due to the lighter weight. Now I know that one brand of cabs won't sound like another brand, but is that "nasal" sound as it was put, common in most Neo speakers? Cheers.

2. rpsands

rpsands

Jul 6, 2007
    Phoenix, AZ
    You know how they put those knobs on your amp? Use those. Sometimes they are labeled things like 'bass' or 'treble' or '150hz' or whatever. :)

3. DeiseBassman

DeiseBassman

Nov 30, 2010
    Ireland
    With all due respect, I wouldn't be posting here asking about this if I hadn't tried everything to eliminate the sound I didn't like from them. I just didn't like the cabs. Thanks.

4. I have GK Neo cabs and Ampeg non-Neo cab. I'm not hearing the "nasal" thing with the Neos.

5. rpsands

rpsands

Jul 6, 2007
    Phoenix, AZ
    If you can't make a cabinet lose a "nasal" sound you don't know enough about what frequencies are operating on the sound to have "tried everything."

Please list what you've tried and what results you've had, and some examples of what kind of tones you are after.