1. Please take 30 seconds to register your free account to remove most ads, post topics, make friends, earn reward points at our store, and more!  

Question About the way I'm Learning

Discussion in 'General Instruction [BG]' started by FrettFretless, Oct 13, 2013.

1. FrettFretless

FrettFretless

Jan 2, 2013
    Hey guys, so I guess I should explain the way I've been learning to play bass for the past 3 years. I never had any formal lessons, so I learned my technique online from this site and others. I think my technique is fine. It's songs that were always tough for me. Only song I learned front to back was Jethro Tull's "Bouree". It was basically the first thing I did on bass. But then, midway through trying to learn "Money" by Pink Floyd, I just kinda started jamming away to the song. It wasn't good or accurate at all, but I found it way less stressful than trying to play it accurately. So then, I looked up some drum loops on youtube and started jamming over that using various scales. I loved it! After that day, I forgot about learning any songs at all. This was 2.5 years ago, and still, "Bouree" is the only thing I actually know how to play (probably have forgotten it by now). Now, I don't play in a band or do gigs, though I often go and jam with my drummer friend (big wonder!). I play almost every day, and I am seeing improvement in my playing. My question is whether this method of learning will mess me up if I ever try to play in a band or do gigs. Maybe I'm over thinking it? So tell me, am I too unconventional? All I do is :bassist:

2. If you want to play in a band or do gigs you'll have to learn tunes.

Learning some music theory will make learning tunes easier.

Taking some lessons will make learning theory easier.

3. Stick_Player

Stick_Player Banned

Nov 13, 2009
    Somewhere on the Alaska Panhandle (Juneau)
    Endorser: Plants vs. Zombies Pea Shooters
    Get in a band and report back the result.

4. Fergie Fulton

Fergie Fulton

Nov 22, 2008