1. Please take 30 seconds to register your free account to remove most ads, post topics, make friends, earn reward points at our store, and more!  

Radial JDI - low output?

Discussion in 'Recording Gear and Equipment [BG]' started by FatherDH, Mar 11, 2009.

1. Ok, heres the deal. I have been using a radial JDI for a few months and the soundguys at the venues I play all have told me it is giving them a really low signal. So today I plugged it into my MBOX to check the level. The XLR output is atleast 2X as low as the bass direct, and none of the pads are on. Is this just the way these DI's are, or is somthing wrong? Any suggestions on how to diagnose and repair? :confused:

Also, when I push in the "speaker pad" nothing happens to the sound?

Thanks in advance!

2. What kind of bass are you using? I found using a JDI with a passive bass ended up with a pretty quiet output. I've since switched to the J48 (active) and the output is much higher.

bassomane likes this.
  3. I use passive J's and P's. It is strange to me that the output is 2x less than going 1/4 via the "THRU" jack. Is this normal? Is the "speaker" pad supposed to actually make an audible difference?

4. bongomania

bongomania Gold Supporting Member Commercial User

Oct 17, 2005
    PDX, OR
    owner, OVNIFX and OVNILabs
    The speaker pad should absolutely make an audible difference of 20dB drop at the XLR output, but should not have an audible change via the Thru jack. In normal use though, yes any passive transformer-based DI will have a drop in signal level. IIRC with the Jensen in the JDI it's a 12dB drop. This is normal. For this reason it's often suggested that passive DI's be used with active basses that have higher output, especially since the JDI will not clip in an unpleasant way when fed a hot input, as many active DI's will.