Recommend a lightweight bass amp for a retiree

Discussion in 'Amps and Cabs [BG]' started by Ralph124C41, Jan 19, 2022.

1. Ralph124C41

Ralph124C41

Sep 20, 2012
    Hi, I haven't been here for a few years as I haven't been playing in a band for a few years before the Covid madness.

I'm 73 and I'm down to two basses. I have two amps, a Hartke Tiltback 10 and the first-generation TC Electronics BG 250, but for the moment I don't have access to them due to a conflict with the owner of the space I've been keeping them in for several years.

So I have no amp now and don't know when ... or if ... I will get access to those amps again.

However I do have the chance to do some jamming and attend some open mics. There is a tiny chance of getting back into a band and I've got feelers out, but who knows?

So what would you folks recommend?

I know one question is about power. For several years I played in your typical local cover band just using an Ampeg BA-115 with its 100 watts. However there were a couple of larger bars that the Ampeg just couldn't cut it. And I was generally playing at full volume so I assume the sound wasn't great but I did play gigs and didn't get much criticism.

One good thing about the BG250 is it weighed about 35 pounds and had that power. However I never liked its sound. I much preferred the sound of the Ampeg unit. (Which I still have but it doesn't work; I assume the power unit is blown. But like my other two amps I no longer have access to it.)

So any thoughts? I need an amp that is lightweight, with at least power for jams (I have no idea if the drummer will be loud or not) and maybe, just maybe, enough for a gig or seven. I like the cost, new or used, to be around $500 to $600.

I wouldn't be amiss at getting a head and a cab, too ... as long as I can afford them.

Sorry for being so wordy, folks.

_Obra_, EatS1stBassist, BOOG and 2 others like this.
  2. lug

lug Supporting Member

Feb 11, 2005
    League City, Tx