1. Please take 30 seconds to register your free account to remove most ads, post topics, make friends, earn reward points at our store, and more!  

Recommend an equalizer

Discussion in 'Effects [BG]' started by Mahumadi, Apr 28, 2010.

1. Mahumadi

Mahumadi Banned

Apr 19, 2009
    North Eastern PA
    I play in a hard rock band. My board is coming together and I expect it to look like this: Big Muff, Bassballs, Chorus, OD, Pitchblack, and an equalizer. My idea is to run the EQ at the front of the chain, dial in my tone, and leave it there. How practical is this? How do you use your EQ.. is it used in the same fashion im wanting to use one for, or do you use it differently?

What should I look for in an equalizer? Which would you suggest?

Very broad questions, I know, but this pedal beginner needs some advice!! :bassist:

2. garmenteros

garmenteros Bass Enthusiast Supporting Member

Aug 24, 2008
    Dominican Republic
    Which EQ do you plan on using? I'm no expert on effects but I've used Eqs after my distortion to add some low end that was lost... I only have experience with MXR 6 band and 10 band EQs and I liked them quite a lot. Some of my friends use them as pres to go straight to the mixing board when recording.

3. Robertron

Robertron

Feb 12, 2010
    NewYork, NY
    Do you live near any music stores? The Boss GEB-7 and other EQ pedals are common at guitar center, samash, etc. I'd recommend you go and try out a pedal to see how the EQ effects your tone and see if this is particularly what you're looking for.

When I would use my GEB-7 I would have run it after my Russian Muff to EQ the fuzz itself.

4. Mahumadi

Mahumadi Banned

Apr 19, 2009
    North Eastern PA
    Im looking into the MXR M-108 10 band eq. The bands guitarist had recommended this one and im thinking I may just go for it. Any specific feedback on this pedal?:bassist:

5. faceinbass

faceinbass

Apr 20, 2008
    KCMO
    Arion made a Bass EQ.