1. Please take 30 seconds to register your free account to remove most ads, post topics, make friends, earn reward points at our store, and more!  

TalkBass.com has been uniting the low end since 1998.  Join us! :)

Replacement for GK MB150

Discussion in 'Amps, Mics & Pickups [DB]' started by audiorep2, Jul 31, 2012.

1. I have been using one of these GKs for 6 years or so, and have been happy. But now there are rattles , buzzies, farts and well,....it's just worn out.
    Before I go buy a new one, I am wondering what else is out there,( same size, weight, performance ) that I should look at ?
    I play regular 4 string electric, and an Ampeg Baby Bass.

2. There is plenty of stuff out there, small combos by Acoustic Image, Markbass, AER, Genz Benz, Ibanez etc... Most of them sound better than the little GK, but... somehow in the band the GK works best in a way. It sits in the mix just right and what seems rough and hard by itself turns into clear and colorfull in the mix.
    I have best results lifting the combo to a bar stool level, so I can hear it well and the drummer too.

3. agedhorse

agedhorse Supporting Member Commercial User

Feb 12, 2006
    Davis, CA (USA)
    Development Engineer-Mesa, Product Support-Genz Benz
    Perhaps having it serviced (professionally) might be your best option? Why don't you give GK a call and see what they suggest.

4. I did have it serviced. It was taken apart, and all things that could be tightened were. The speaker needs to be replaced, it works but not well.
    I think I'd rather sell the amp off and start over.

5. Ric Vice

Ric Vice Supporting Member

Jul 2, 2005
    Olivette, Missouri
    Audio Rep 2,