1. Please take 30 seconds to register your free account to remove most ads, post topics, make friends, earn reward points at our store, and more!  

reverb and delay, what's the difference? effects noob here

Discussion in 'Effects [BG]' started by GG90, Nov 29, 2006.

1. GG90

GG90

Jun 5, 2006
    Could anyone help me out with this? Thanks in advance guys :D

[edit] Hey, thanks very much for all the help guys! I now understand the difference between the two, but which one would be better to use with a bass? Or would it entirely upto the player, and what kind of sound he/she is looking to get out of it?

Oh and sorry about having posted in the wrong section of the forum, I was so sure I'd posted in effects!

2. Bruce Lindfield

Bruce Lindfield Unprofessional TalkBass Contributor Gold Supporting Member In Memoriam

Delay is like single repeats of an input - which can be "blurred" with feedback - but is basically an audible echo.

Reverb is just the ambient sound of the room - so not a single repeat or echo - but rather how the instrument would sound if played in a room of a certain size and possibly texture - much more complicated!

3. Reverb is an echo-type effect. It adds "space" to the sound as though it were in a large, empty room (simply put). Delay is just that - the sound is delayed (held back electronically) for a set period of time before it is allowed to pass through the system to be heard.

4. Bruce Lindfield

Bruce Lindfield Unprofessional TalkBass Contributor Gold Supporting Member In Memoriam

Actually - what most people think of as an "echo" is recreated by a delay unit - whereas digital reverb, is much more "ambient" than that !

5. didier

didier

Aug 4, 2005
    NC
    I usually think of reverb as an echo/delay effect, too. They are different, for sure, but the difference is I think in degree rather than the type of effect (in types I would differentiate pitch changing, distortions, compressions... )