Discussion in 'Strings [BG]' started by bassisgood, Dec 19, 2005.

1. bassisgood

Dec 19, 2005
    Hello I have been using rotosounds on and off for 15 years(rounds) and three days ago I some flatwound jazz bass 77's, Cost me $76.00 Canadain. Anyways the a-string buzzes like crazy and I checked all the frets and its not touching, I put a old A string from a roundwound pack and it sounds good. do these guys make crappy strings ad sell them for the price of a cheap bass? you did say to email Rotosound, I tried that and no luck. I will go off now and see if I can return them. Time to switch brands I think! Even ghs boomers($28.95) or series A($19.95) strings are not defective. I think at three or more times the cost of strings you should have quality! I suggest boycotting these guys myself.
    This is my first post i got registered just to state some facts on these stringmakers. The sound quailty is all in my own opinoin but keep in mind I know what is what been playing for 17 years and can tell a dead string!

Your thoughts on string quaility? Who gives ua the best bang for the buck. If I was Steve Harris year my bass tech could grab hundreds of dollars worth of them off the shelf, but I am not a millionaire and These strings do cost 1/5 the price of my bass. My christmas present to myself was to try flatwounds even at $76.00 A BIG WASTE OF MONEY!!
  2. JimmyM

JimmyM Supporting Member

Apr 11, 2005
    Apopka, FL
    Endorsing: Ampeg Amps, EMG Pickups
    Switching from rounds to flats usually means that you're going to need a setup. Try that first before you give up on them.
  3. Wolf

Jan 30, 2004
    Rotos are fantastic! Bad strings don't buzz;
    Bad SETUPS buzz!
  4. bassisgood

Dec 19, 2005
    Ok lets see, I cranked the bridge all the way up and it still buzzes!