1. Please take 30 seconds to register your free account to remove most ads, post topics, make friends, earn reward points at our store, and more!  

Roundwound for Flatwound, setup

Discussion in 'Hardware, Setup & Repair [BG]' started by SRT31, Mar 4, 2010.

1. SRT31

SRT31

Jun 6, 2008
    MADISON OHIO
    Want to try flatwounds, on my MIM Fender P-Bass, any setup/intonation issues that I should be aware of? This is my first time re-stringing. Thanks.

2. snyderz

snyderz

Aug 20, 2000
    AZ mountains
    I've never had to adjust the action when I've converted round to flat. You might have to tweak the trussrod if there is a huge difference in tension. Just throw them on, intonate, and play that sucker.

3. Cannabass

Cannabass

Jan 22, 2010
    i had to crank the **** out of my old epi LP's truss rod when i put fender flats on it, they are such high tension.

but it also could have because i took the roundwounds off like a week before and left the bass sitting around with no strings... haha i made all the rookie mistakes with that bass :D

4. Cannabass

Cannabass

Jan 22, 2010
    p.s. dont get fender flats

5. JTE

JTE Supporting Member

Mar 12, 2008
    Central Illinois, USA
    It depends on at least two things. First, the difference between tuned tension of the rounds you've got on now, and the flats you're going to put on. Second, how critical things like action, relief, and intonation are to you. If you go to T-I Jazz Flats you're probably going to need to relieve the truss rod's tension. If however you go to some LaBella Old Originals (the "Jamerson set"), you'll probably have to tighten the rod a good bit. There's simply not any standard that's consistent except that different sets have different tensions.

Any time you change brand or gauge of strings you should check and set the neck relief, the action, and the intonation. But then I think any bassist should be able to set all of these themselves without any problems.

John

6. SRT31

SRT31