samples of bassiq & synthwah

Discussion in 'Effects [BG]' started by c-ba55, May 30, 2005.

1. Clips from a recent gig. Both are about a minute and a half bass solos, with the first 20 seconds uneffected, before I kick on the effect.
    EBS BassIQ

Digitech Synth Wah (Used as an octave, with just a little synth)

The rest of the chain is a Pedulla Rapture J-2 through Thunderfunk amp, & Aguilar GS 212 cab. Stereo recording with a pair of AKG C1000s into a firepod.
  2. De Teng

De Teng

Oct 27, 2003
    Utrecht, Holland
    Sounds nice, but watch your timing though. Sometimes (more than one on the track) it's not exact into the measure, keep it going nevertheless!

(I need to know how I should put this in english, dammit)
  3. I think I know what you're saying well enough. I appreciate any help on the solos, since I'm new at soloing in general. But mostly, I just thought these were nice examples of effect off -> effect on while bass is prominent, so people could hear them.
  4. zac2944

zac2944 Supporting Member

Dec 28, 2004
    Rochester, NY
    Thanks for the clips. I dig the BassIQ, very funky.
  5. Sako

Nov 4, 2004
    Charlotte, NC
    Thanks for sharing! Always great to hear real world sound clips of effects.
  6. De Teng

De Teng

Oct 27, 2003
    Utrecht, Holland
    Okay, it's a nice sample, no offense. I have the BassIQ myself as well and I am quite searching for a good sound for it. In the mix it works well in upmode as your mp3 shows very well, nevertheless it goes 'whoop' when I rehearse with it.... a bit of compressing afterwards helps anything.

Your solo isn't bad by the way, when it's on time it's got a groovy aspect and that's good imo. Try listening to some guitarplayers (E.g. Mark Knopfler... no... don't shoot me... he uses very nice notes!) and watch them composing solo's. On a bass it sounds even better. ;)