1. Please take 30 seconds to register your free account to remove most ads, post topics, make friends, earn reward points at our store, and more!  

"Sand" in my E String???

Discussion in 'Strings [BG]' started by rreed, Mar 17, 2009.

1. rreed

rreed

Feb 22, 2009
    Arkham Asylum
    Still have the stock strings on my cheapy Ibanez bass I just picked up a few weeks ago. All of a sudden the E string suddenly hisses or kind of rattles(?) like it's full of sand or beads when played. It's really weird and I'm a complete noob so please forgive me for not understanding what's going on.

The sound is in the string itself though it does kind of come out of the amp a little. None of the others do it. I just noticed it a day or two ago. Don't know how else to explain it, when played the E sounds like it has sand or small beads hissing around in it.

What gives please?

2. bassistgook

bassistgook

Feb 5, 2009
    How long have you had the strings on there? They do die over time. You might just need some new strings.

3. Darkstrike

Darkstrike Return Of The King!

Sep 14, 2007
    Bust string.

4. rreed

rreed

Feb 22, 2009
    Arkham Asylum
    As mentioned they're the stock strings that have been on there a few weeks. :)

What do you mean by bust string? The string is busted or I should bust the string?

5. Darkstrike

Darkstrike Return Of The King!

Sep 14, 2007
    The string is ruined, buy a new set, I've had the same problem in the past.

6. bassistgook

bassistgook

Feb 5, 2009
    The cheaper ibanez basses come with crap strings that I would change right away. Try out some different brands, metals, wraps, and gauges till you find what you like. If you know what kind of tone you want many people here will be able to point you to a string that'll get you closer to it. Hope this helps.

7. rreed

rreed

Feb 22, 2009
    Arkham Asylum