1. Please take 30 seconds to register your free account to remove most ads, post topics, make friends, earn reward points at our store, and more!  

TalkBass.com has been uniting the low end since 1998.  Join us! :)

Saw a friend from high school tonight.....

Discussion in 'Off Topic [BG]' started by MJ5150, Apr 14, 2006.

1. MJ5150

MJ5150 Supporting Member

Apr 12, 2001
    Olympia, WA
    I graduated from high school in 1989, so it's been awhile. As I was browsing around the TV stations during a break in the NBA game I was watching, I stopped for a moment on the popular show UFC Unleashed on Spike TV. I'm not normally a fan of the brutality of this sport, but sometimes it intrigues me.

So while I'm watching, they announce the next matchup. One of the guys has the same name as a dude I went to high school with. Now, I'm really interested. This guy wrestled in high school, and college. As it turns it out.....it IS my buddy from high school. The dude is freakin' HUGE with muscles everywhere, and looks scary. He pummels this guy so bad, and then puts him in a choke hold that makes him pass out. I was amazed and scared at the same time. My friend from high school, Jeff Monson, is an ultimate fighter, and he holds all kinds of titles as the best this and that in all kinds of mixed martial arts. CRAZY!

-Mike

2. canopener

canopener

Sep 15, 2003
    Isle of Lucy
    Cool and weird at the same time. Is he fighting on the next PPV? Did you go to school w/him in Altoona?

3. MJ5150

MJ5150 Supporting Member

Apr 12, 2001
    Olympia, WA
    Yeah, he is scheduled on the next PPV according to something I found online about him.

Not Altoona, I went to school with him out here in Lacey.

It's crazy to see that guy on TV. He has all these tatoo's and huge muscles now. He was stocky and muscular in school, but now he is like a monster.

-Mike

4. Woodchuck

Woodchuck

Apr 21, 2000
    Atlanta (Grant Park!)
    Gallien Krueger for the last 12 years!