1. Please take 30 seconds to register your free account to remove most ads, post topics, make friends, earn reward points at our store, and more!  

Self Taught: Yea or Nay

Discussion in 'General Instruction [BG]' started by Rhaco, Jan 14, 2020.

Tags:
  1. Can't Wait!

115 vote(s)
    72.8%
  2. I'll Pass

43 vote(s)
    27.2%
  1. Rhaco

Rhaco

May 22, 2019
    There are amazing players who are self taught, and there are awful ones. There are amazing players who are classically trained and there are awful ones. This is NOT the way to judge a musician! But before hearing a player, if you hear the words "self taught," in that instinctual gut-check part of yourself, do your expectations go up or down.

Definitely explain your choice if you want, but lets avoid the lists of names if at all possible. I doubt there is a player alive who would say "all self taught players are good/bad" or "all trained players are good/bad." The examples either way sort of prove jack, and I'm wondering what your gut tells you.

2. LBS-bass

LBS-bass Supporting Member

Self taught works brilliantly if you have an inherent musical gift. Everyone else needs more traditional teaching. However, even the most brilliant self-taught players will benefit from some study of music fundamentals and basic theory and notation, even if it's study they do on their own.

3. Rhaco

Rhaco

May 22, 2019
    All true, but I think we all know that. This is a poll of what your gut says. If you just hear the words self taught, do you expect the player to be better of worse?

4. Oddly

Oddly Supporting Member

Jan 17, 2014
    Dublin, Ireland.
    My gut answer is my expectation would go up.
    As a general rule, someone self-taught has to work harder at stuff, therefore wants it more, and so is more passionate.
    I'll take passion over technical ability any day.

5. Rhaco

Rhaco

May 22, 2019