Psst... Ready to join TalkBass and start posting, make new friends, sell your gear, and more?  Register your free account in 30 seconds.

Short-scale bass, pros and cons

Discussion in 'Basses [BG]' started by Staceman, Mar 14, 2005.

1. Staceman

Staceman

Mar 8, 2005
    Everett, PA
    Being a total newbie when I first purchased a bass, I unknowingly got a short-scale model.

I'm curious to know what the pros and cons are of learning on one of these, or playing one long term, compared to a "normal" bass.

I've read that they were once considered student guitars, and I also read somewhere that people have been using them a lot for the blues in recent years. I do know that not a lot of people use them, overall.

I definitely plan to upgrade to a "normal" bass eventually, I just wanted to get everyone's input on here about these style of basses.

2. Rowka

Rowka Supporting Member

Dec 9, 2002
    Jacksonville, FL
    What is the scale you got? What kind of bass is it.
    Stanley Clarke plays on a 30.75" short scale Alembic that no one would consider a student instrument.

3. Staceman

Staceman

Mar 8, 2005
    Everett, PA
    It's a cheapie, you might say; It's called a Drive Wildfire. I've seen it described somewhere as having a 29 5/8" neck, but I measured it from the bottom of the fret board up to the nut, and it was an even 30".

I wanted to learn to play bass and 6-string, and also wanted to see if my kids took and interest in it at an early age, so I started by getting cheaper instruments, just in the case that none of us got into it and lost interest, it wouldn't be that big of a loss if they ended up just sitting around. I'm really loving the bass, and thus I plan to eventually get a better quality one, but I think this will do for now.