1. Please take 30 seconds to register your free account to remove most ads, post topics, make friends, earn reward points at our store, and more!  

Should I get the rickenbacker?

Discussion in 'Basses [BG]' started by PMC89, Feb 27, 2008.

1. PMC89

PMC89

May 1, 2006
    New Jersey
    Found a guy with a 'GrayGlo' Rickenbacker from September 07...

[​IMG]

He's asking about $1645.00 shipped.

Thing is, I'm not a professional... I'm a college business student with an already expensive hobby and a local bar/small party playing band...

Do I buy it? Is it collectible and potentially a good investment as well as a great instrument? And how is resale, would I be able to quickly sell it again for close to what I bought it for?

-Paul

2. rzm61

rzm61

Feb 26, 2008
    Oh wow!
    Its beautiful!

I would say buy it. If I had the funds, I would be buying it. ;)

3. Buy it! You won't lose money and that bass is potentially a collectable because not that many Greyglo's were shipped. Some people who had ordered Jetglos had these show up unexpectedly. I think if I recall it was a finish that Ric tried on a limited basis with no plans for future use. Someone that knows more might be able to clarify that though.

4. Webtroll

Webtroll Rolling for initiative

Apr 23, 2006
    Austin, TX
    that's pretty hot, no idea how collectable it will become. ricks aren't particularly rare and off color ones aren't common but not very rare. i'd only buy it if i wanted a rick, could afford it and liked the color.

5. lefty007

lefty007

Jan 19, 2004
    Miami, FL
    Price seems okay. You won't lose money if you decide to sell it soon.

6. Barkless Dog

Barkless Dog Barkless to a point

Jan 19, 2007
    If you play with a pick, buy it, if not, try it first.

7. whoapower

whoapower

Jul 14, 2005
    Austin, TX