1. Please take 30 seconds to register your free account to remove most ads, post topics, make friends, earn reward points at our store, and more!  

small combos w/ switchable voltage?

Discussion in 'Amps, Mics & Pickups [DB]' started by bribass, Mar 15, 2010.

1. bribass

bribass

Jan 25, 2006
    Northern NJ
    Endorsing Artist; Arnold Schnitzer/ Wil DeSola New Standard RN DB
    Anyone know of any small combos for good for DB that have switchable voltage?

2. RD

RD

Jun 17, 2003
    Seattle, WA
    The Genz Benz shuttle 6.0 12T has a 115V/230V switch on it. I've read that it is seeing use by some who double on EB and DB. I've no direct experience though.
    Good luck with it.
    RD

3. Ric Vice

Ric Vice Supporting Member

Jul 2, 2005
    Olivette, Missouri
    Bribass,
    Walter's amps have a switch on the rear of the amp to do just that so they can be used in Europe without a "step down transformer". The EA Doubler and Micro can be configured via internal jumpers to change the voltages ( I remember Mike Arnopol mentioning this when he was on tour with the prototype). The Eden WTX 264 and 500 apparently switch automatically. Those are the ones I know about.

Ric

P.S. I just checked the Acoustic Image website. Their heads apparently also switch to European power using an external switch on the back of the amp. Your profile
    looks like you already own two amps that have switchable voltage, unless you are going to Japan.

4. bribass

bribass

Jan 25, 2006
    Northern NJ
    Yes, I have an old WW and a AI Focus, both w/ this capability.

I need a very portable amp for a tour in Pacific Asia as a back up in case there is no backline avail. for we'll be doing workshops/maser classes as well as concerts.