1. Please take 30 seconds to register your free account to remove most ads, post topics, make friends, earn reward points at our store, and more!  

TalkBass.com has been uniting the low end since 1998.  Join us! :)

[Soloing] Help?

Discussion in 'General Instruction [BG]' started by CliffBurton1, May 1, 2009.

1. CliffBurton1

CliffBurton1

Dec 13, 2008
    Ohio
    Hey, I've been playing bass for just under a year and am in a band with a great guitarist and drummer, but I feel like I'm still learning. I mean, if you give me a tab, i can learn it in like 5 min, but I wanna get past that. I just want to learn some scales and crap like that to actually be good.

Ok yeah, I also need some help on like soloing and stuff. Isn't it normally sclaes/parts of scales fast? Idk... :bawl:

2. I dont know what your trying to accomplish really by learning "scales and crap" to be "good", im dumb as a brick when it comes to theory,scales,modes and all that other fancy mumbo jumbo, been playing by ear since I started so I guess I consider myself "good", bottom line is knowing scales,modes, etc. helps but does not necessarily make you "good".

3. bhass

bhass

Oct 21, 2008
    England, UK
  4. Chris K

Chris K

May 3, 2009
    Gorinchem,The Netherlands
    Partner: Otentic Guitars
    Theory, reading music, scales: yes, you should, to improve your general level. For soloing I completely agree with Modifier: the ear rules.
    I have a very simple tip to learn to play solo. The goal is to find the notes on your bass without thinking. Just play the melodies to simple songs, like children's songs. Do not study them, just play them by heart in different keys. and of course, use a well-defined fingering method for both hands. Try not to watch your fretting hand. Good luck!

5. iceshaft07

iceshaft07

Mar 4, 2007
    Hey buddy!