1. Please take 30 seconds to register your free account to remove most ads, post topics, make friends, earn reward points at our store, and more!  

Soloing with three fingers!?

Discussion in 'Technique [BG]' started by Jowa, Mar 11, 2008.

1. Jowa

Jowa

Feb 13, 2008
    Hi,

I'm new to TB, and this is my first post. Sorry if my english isn't to perfect, it's not my first language, but hopefully you will understand me anyway.

I started to try playing with three fingers a couple of weeks ago, and I've noticed some improvment. What I'm doing right now is playing the usual
    -------------------------1-2-3-4------
    -----------------1-2-3-4--------------
    ---------1-2-3-4----------------------
    -1-2-3-4------------------------------

with three fingers, trying to alternate R-M-I ALL the time, and doing the same while running up and down the usual scales (this I find really hard though, sometimes the fingers don't want to alternate R-M-I, especially the index often want to rake down to the next string).

My question is, does many basist play solos and similiar things which involves much stringskipping using three fingers and all the time alternate R-M-I!? Because to me, this feels really hard and uncomfortable. Should I just keep on practicing til my fingers get used to it, or is the three finger technique better when playing more riff kind of things and not so much stringskipping?

Thanks in advance