Starting Bass

Discussion in 'Basses [BG]' started by Progressive, Dec 24, 2005.

1. Hi everyone. I'm new to TalkBass, but I've read this site a lot. It looks like a good community, so I'm just gonna jump in right now.

Unfortunately, I made the horrible choice of ordering a bass over the internet, using "Musician's Friend", who are on the other side of the continent. It's been 22 days since I ordered it, but they said it'd arrive in 3-6 days? :p

Anyway, I got the cheapest kit I could find (considering I have less cash than German Potato Farmers in 1946), a Rogue Bass starter's bunch, including a strap, cable, amp and lovely-looking black bass. Eventually, I'll probably buy something "better", that is, if I even receive this one.

Nice to meet you all :hyper:
  2. Figjam

Aug 5, 2003
    Boston, MA
    Id buy something better ASAP. Rogue is pretty much the worst you can get, but i guess thats reflected in the price.
  3. Lol, I gathered. :p. I'm not sure the amount of money I have reflects any current prices.
  4. BassChuck

Nov 15, 2005
    Hope that all works out. Yea, the Rogue is a cheapie. But then, if you spend some time reading all the posts here you see that many people started out on something less than perfect. (ya gotta start somewhere).

Read the thread "Bassists with Cheap Basses", I'm not sure I have the name right, but there are some good thoughts and points of view there.

Best of luck. This is a great forum for information. Don't be afraid to ask or post.
  5. They should have emailed you with a tracking number so you could see where it is in the US.

I'm in Atlanta, and I used their free shipping(ground) and still got mine in about 7 days.

As for Rogue, tons of us started on the equal of a rogue. I find its awesome to reward yourself with something better once you really get into the groove.

If you start out with a $1500 bass, its kind of hard to reward yourself :p