1. Please take 30 seconds to register your free account to remove most ads, post topics, make friends, earn reward points at our store, and more!  

TalkBass.com has been uniting the low end since 1998.  Join us! :)

Stressing...Big Time

Discussion in 'Basses [BG]' started by Spent, Mar 25, 2013.

1. Spent

Spent

May 15, 2011
    Upstate NY
    I've been playing a MusicMan Bongo for the past two years. It's a great bass, but I've never been totally happy with it. I now have the opportunity to trade it, and a couple hundred (yeah, I'm taking a beating), for a new Spector LX4. I have two other Spectors, both Korean, and I love them. I can't justify a USA model, even though I live about five miles from where they're made. I've only ever parted with one guitar (I'm up to 17 of them); I get attached even if I don't play them. I'm trying to justify this by telling myself that I'd rather someone who appreciates it play it rather than it just sit in my basement, but it's not working.

2. Baird6869

Baird6869 RIP Gord Downey. A True Canadian Icon.

The good news is that there are lots of Bongos out there. Replacing it down the road shouldn't be an issue unless it is a limited edition Bongo.

If you are sure the Spector will get played, trade the Bongo as long as you don't lose a fortune.

3. FourBanger

FourBanger

Sep 2, 2012
    SE Como
    Agreed, there are plenty of Bongos in the sea. If tou truly miss it you could always pick your least favorite one or two from the other seventeen and trade for another.

You will always find something you like about most basses you try (once you get past the really cheap ones at least) but it sounds like that Spector ticks many more boxes for you than the MM.

4. Spent

Spent

May 15, 2011
    Upstate NY