1. Please take 30 seconds to register your free account to remove most ads, post topics, make friends, earn reward points at our store, and more!  

String buzz when lifting fingers

Discussion in 'General Instruction [BG]' started by marulo, Oct 8, 2019.

1. marulo

marulo

Oct 8, 2019
    Hello lads!

I'm kind of new to bass (but by no means new to playing music) and I borrowed a Hofner Ignition. All is fine and dandy, the only problem I'm really facing is the fret buzz. It doesn't seem to be the classic "finger too far from the actual fret", because it only buzzes when I lift my fretting hand fingers to mute. For instance when playing the simple intro line to Psycho Killer, the buzz is almost unbearable and I don't really want to continue playing, until I know if it's a problem with my technique (bad habits :c).

I have several theories, one is that because the Hofner Ignition is partially hollow, it could be just a really unfortunate case of resonance. Or it could be a problem with the action/neck bend, tho I don't really want to screw around with that (it's borrowed).

Any idea why? Advice? Thanks :D

Mark White likes this.
  2. Mark White

Mark White

Sep 10, 2019
    A newbie here too, coming across the same issue. And in the absence of more knowledgeable replies...

What I've gleaned so far is basically that this is normal - big bass strings vibrate (more than, say, guitar) and insufficient pressure causes buzz, so in releasing pressure to mute big strings, they buzz momentarily. The solution seems to be use right-hand/finger muting, though there maybe something that could be happening with left-hand technique that I'm missing too.

3. mambo4

mambo4

Jun 9, 2006
    Dallas
    every beginner encounters buzzing, its nothing to despare about.
    1.) Identify if the buzz gets amplified. Many basses when unplugged have some buzzing that does not translate and need not be a concern.
    2.) practice left hand finger pressure