1. Please take 30 seconds to register your free account to remove most ads, post topics, make friends, earn reward points at our store, and more!  

Technique for Small Hands

Discussion in 'Technique [BG]' started by Euphony, May 13, 2010.

1. Euphony

Euphony

May 13, 2010
    PA
    I'd be interested in advice on this. I have very small hands (about a 6 in ring size for finger width), and my wrist sometimes gets sore when I'm playing. Keep in mind that I'm a beginner. Notes on the E string, especially higher up the fret board, are harder for me to hit. My pinkie finger is also pretty weak, and stretching from first to fourth finger often makes the notes buzz. I've been doing arm, finger, and wrist stretches before I play which seem to help with the stiffness. I warm up with a lot of scales to help with flexibility and speed. Also, do you have any suggestions for fingerstyle exercises, especially to help with strength/speed/rhythm?

The bass guitar I'm using used to be my teenage brother's, so it's not like I can buy a smaller one. I'm looking for advice on how to improve my technique using the Ibanez Soundgear that I already have (sorry, don't know the exact model). Any advice for me? Do you think it will get easier with practice? I'm mostly looking for tips on technique and exercises or stretches that can help my fingers become stronger/more flexible.

I'm going to keep playing bass no matter what, I'd just rather not develop problems in my hands. I practice for 1-2 hours every day, so right now I'm just trying not to overdo it.

2. Shmone

Shmone

Feb 16, 2009
    Israel
    You should get a teacher, only a teacher can see if you're doing something wrong and correct it and its better to do it now and even stop after a couple of lessons but just make sure you start with right technique, otherwise it'll be harder to fix it later.