1. Please take 30 seconds to register your free account to remove most ads, post topics, make friends, earn reward points at our store, and more!  

THE Boutique Bass Cab Shootout

Discussion in 'Amps and Cabs [BG]' started by MDBass, Dec 23, 2017.

Tags:
  1. MDBass

MDBass Supporting Member

Nov 7, 2012
    Los Angeles, CA
    Endorsing Artist: Dingwall-Fender-Jule-Dunlop-Tech 21-Darkglass-Nordstrand
    OP update 1/18

Hey folks!

Short version: I'm simply looking for true studio monitor quality reproduction in something that's light enough to carry with a single hand and loud enough to kick it with a modern rock band on a larger stage.

Think a Genelec that can handle 700 watts: no small task, right? ;)

I run a Jule Monique and a pretty extensive pedalboard, and I'm a working session musician so I'm very familiar with what I should be hearing out of the cab.

Cabs in Round 1:

Audiokinesis Thunderchild
    Audiokinesis Changeling
    Barefaced Big Baby II
    Fearless F115
    Genzler 210-3 Array
    Genzler 12-3 Array
    LDS 15/6

I have recorded around a dozen signals (ranging from P bass with flats to heavily saturated modern tones) direct through my pedal board to Pro Tools, and am reamping that signal through each of the respective cabs mic'ed w a U87.

I'll be compiling the results in an HD YouTube video, as well as a SoundCloud playlist, for the builders to use as they see fit - and so you can all hear them for yourself as well :thumbsup:

I've already plugged my bass directly in to the Monique and moved the speakon cable around to each of the cabs in turn, and the differences were honestly pretty surprising...

I'll save the rest of my thoughts on how they compare until the recorded tests are done, but it's definitely going to be a horse race :cool: