Dismiss Notice

Psst... Ready to join TalkBass and start posting, make new friends, sell your gear, and more?  Register your free account in 30 seconds.

The New Bose Amplification System!

Discussion in 'Amps and Cabs [BG]' started by Scott Lynch, Feb 18, 2006.

1. Scott Lynch

Scott Lynch Supporting Member

I am a student at the University of Delaware, and as such certain oppurtunities come along that allow me to try new things. For example, the new line of amps by Bose. The father of a UD student happens to be a salesperson for these things, and did a presentation last Friday. Lucky ol' me got to sit in as the bassist for the ensemble that demonstrated these babies.

The system works like this. A base, about the shape of a cymbal vault and sized somewhat larger, holds a pre-power setup and input/output section, as well as holding the mid-high frequency tower, consisting of two sets of 12 vertically aligned 5" drivers, one stacked on top of the other. 2 subwoofers, which had (I believe) 2 6.5" woofers, provided the bass. The preamp section has 4 channels. 2 of these channels (1 and 2) have a gain control and accept either XLR or 1/4" ins (in the same jack). The EQ? in a wired remote, which can be placed on a music stand or other elevated device. 3 band fixed frequency (the guy said 120 hz, 1.5 kHz, and 12 kHz, but he didn't sound like he was sure so don't take my word for it), with a level control for each channel and an overall master volume. So, for instance, if you are running bass and backup vocals through one of these sytems, you have a three band EQ and level control for each channel. Vocals too soft? Turn 'em up to match your bass signal. Channels 1 and 2 also have an XLR out to run to a house PA when playing in a large club. Channels 3 and 4 have a 1/4" in. I didn't mess with these so I can't say much about 'em. Other ins and outs exist in the base as well.