1. Please take 30 seconds to register your free account to remove most ads, post topics, make friends, earn reward points at our store, and more!  

Thinking of buying an EUB... advice please?

Discussion in 'Electric Upright Basses (EUB's) [DB]' started by FollowMeDown, Mar 11, 2021.

1. FollowMeDown

FollowMeDown

Feb 8, 2019
    So i'm thinking of buying an upright stick bass. I'm a total beginner with uprights, never played one before, other than a quick go on someone else's that was a surprising amount of fun and made me see the possibilities. When buying an instrument I generally prefer to start premium than first buy cheap/beginner, have to learn on a harder-to-play instrument and later lose money from trading up.
    I'm looking for something that sounds as much like a regular double bass as possible, or even warmer, growlier. The leader of one band I play with really wants me to play with a bow too, not only finger playing.
    I really like the appearance of the NS Design basses, has anyone got anything good/bad to say about their tone/playability in comparison to other EUBs?
    Beyond the things one checks for when buying a used bass guitar, what are the extra things to look out for when buying a used upright stick bass?
    Also, I love having a bottom B string on my bass guitar. I was recently given a 4 string bass guitar but can't get comfortable playing it due to that missing string. Am I crazy for thinking I should get a 5 string EUB?

2. abarson

abarson

Nov 6, 2003
    Santa Cruz
    I'd recommend that you ask a moderator to post this in the EUB section on the Double Bass side of TB.

3. FollowMeDown

FollowMeDown

Feb 8, 2019
    Woops I should have scrolled down on the forums tab window.... will do thanks.

willtu likes this.
  4. BarfanyShart

BarfanyShart

Sep 19, 2019
    DC Metro