1. Please take 30 seconds to register your free account to remove most ads, post topics, make friends, earn reward points at our store, and more!  

To all Ashdown users

Discussion in 'Amps and Cabs [BG]' started by Croox, Mar 4, 2008.

1. Croox

Croox

Sep 16, 2007
    South Side Chicago
    I've been playing on Laney stuff since i started playing bass and in the late 90s early 00s laney was easy to find. now that I want to upgrade there are no laney dealers in the midwest (illinois and surrounding states) I was looking into ashdown since there is a dealer near me and MF is a dealer which makes things
    my laney rig is a rbg400 and i plug into a laney 4x10 for shows and such. so i'm lookin to go the same route a 15 and 4 10s

So sell me on Ashdown

2. scowboy

scowboy Supporting Member

Jun 9, 2006
    Sacramento area
    I have been pretty happily using Eden products for a couple years. About two months ago I got a bug up my butt for something different ... Ashdown ABM500 EVOII. Loved the tube over drive and the hope for some vintage tone.

So I ordered one from Musician's Friend. Got it a week later it was defective out of the box. When the EQ circuit was engaged it had a horrible buzz. I really pondered what to do next. Honestly I went running back to Eden. I just cannot afford to have two amps and one with a reliability problem. I love the way the Ashdown controls are arranged and I bet they can sound really good but it just left a bad taste in my mouth. Also Musicians Friend acted like it might take 10+ days including shipping to exchange the unit so just got a refund.

I think what my long term plan is ... get an Eden Navigator Preamp and separate power amp. The Navigator has all of the great Eden attributes plus a tube over drive and one heck of a compressor.

Probably not the sell you were looking for.

3. JAUQO III-X

JAUQO III-X Banned

Jan 4, 2002
    CHICAGO,IL.
    Endorsing artist:see profile.