1. Please take 30 seconds to register your free account to remove most ads, post topics, make friends, earn reward points at our store, and more!  

What Does A Bad Bass Sound Like?

Discussion in 'Basses [BG]' started by Raiztee, Nov 3, 2013.

1. Raiztee

Raiztee

May 26, 2013
    So now that I'm about to buy a bass, I wanna know how exactly a bad bass sounds like.

I mean, I've been playing acoustic guitar for a bit, and electric after a while. After playing for a while, I was able to tell the difference between high end and low end guitars. (They all sounded the same to me before I started playing) I have no idea what you call it, having a trained ear is it? But unfortunately, I don't have that for bass.

I'm about to buy one without any prior experience of playing bass, so all basses kinda sound the same to me, especially in the youtube videos I see. Though those basses are probably all mid-high end or something.

Basically, I want to know what's the main difference between what's considered a bad sounding bass and a good sounding one since I have no idea what to test when I get to the shop and what to look for in the sound. I'm kinda aiming for a low end one with my budget.

I want to get something that sounds remotely decent. Something that wouldn't hold you back when practicing stuff. (I've had that experience with acoustic everytime I heard the difference between the high end stuff I listen to and the low end guitar I have :U)

Thanks!

2. JimmyM

JimmyM Supporting Member

Apr 11, 2005
    Apopka, FL
    Endorsing: Ampeg Amps, EMG Pickups
    What's bad to you might be good to me. And vice versa. Trust your instincts.

3. hsech

hsech Work hard. My Social Security needs a raise.

Jun 27, 2012
    Central Iowa
    Use your ears. What sounds good to you might not sound good to me and what sounds bad to you might sound good to me.

4. Keithy

Keithy

Oct 5, 2013