1. Please take 30 seconds to register your free account to remove most ads, post topics, make friends, earn reward points at our store, and more!  

What is the best Hard Rock 5 String?

Discussion in 'Basses [BG]' started by Iris_Bassist13, Mar 20, 2009.

1. Iris_Bassist13

Iris_Bassist13

Nov 24, 2008
    Hey Talkbass peeps
    I've been playing for 9 years now and I am looking into acquiring a new 5 string bass to add to my collection (if you can call it that).

I was thinking about either:
    1) Tribute by G&L 5 String
    2) The New Sterling MM Series five-er
    3) Ibanez SRX 5 string
    4) Warwick Rockbass 5 string (Streamer or Corvette)

As you can probably tell my budget is limited so I was wondering if i could just get some help from you guys.

Thanks
    Iris_Bassist13

2. SanDiegoHarry

SanDiegoHarry Banned Supporting Member

Aug 11, 2008
    San Diego, CA
    the one you play and like, not the one that looks nice on a web page.

3. Iris_Bassist13

Iris_Bassist13

Nov 24, 2008
    well yea i knew that, I mean I just wana know which ones I should seriously look at and try b4 buying.

just lookin for some help

4. stflbn

stflbn

May 10, 2007
    Nashville
    WHichever you like playing the most. Seriously.

It won't matter anyhow... you'll be buried under an avalanche of Drums and deTuned guitar's. So just play what you like.

5. Iris_Bassist13

Iris_Bassist13

Nov 24, 2008
    cool
    i mean ill play what I feel is good but im just wondering which will give me the best sound for hard rock

6. OneMoreRobot

OneMoreRobot

Jan 23, 2009
    Yeah dude I get what you're asking, but all in all these guys are saying there is no bass that is specifically for a certain genre.

You gotta play what you like. I mean someone's used a Ric for funk, that's not exactly the norm, but I guess the guy liked how it sounded. Just play around and bring your guitar buddies.