1. Please take 30 seconds to register your free account to remove most ads, post topics, make friends, earn reward points at our store, and more!  

TalkBass.com has been uniting the low end since 1998.  Join us! :)

What should I do?

Discussion in 'Hardware, Setup & Repair [BG]' started by qcbassman, Mar 10, 2013.

1. qcbassman

qcbassman

Jan 12, 2013
    USA
    Hi all! I am very new to the bass but have fallen in love. I have a dilemma. I bought a Squier VM Jag Special for $160. Had a friend who is very experienced look at it and he liked it, but told me the neck was twisted. I spoke with the store I bought it from and they very kindly agreed to swap it for a warranty replacement. Set up is good, concurrent amount of relief on both sides of neck, good string height, intonation, etc. Only problem is on the D string somewhere around fret 17 I have terrible buzz, only that fret, only that string. I've read all the possibilities about causes and fixes. I don't feel comfortable trying a DYI fix. Here's my question (took long enough to get to): Do I get it fixed ( could be costly), should I be "that guy" who is still not happy and go back and ask the store to take care of it, or, do I suck it up and realize that it's a $200 bass and be happy that's all that's wrong with it? Maybe in a couple of years I will upgrade to something higher end or even boutique...

I am interested in jazz, funk, rock, but in all reality may only ever use this instrument to play praise and worship music. Is it foreseeable that I will spend a lot of time in that area of the neck?

I hope I posted this in the right place. Thanks to all for your thoughts and suggestions.

2. gregmon79

gregmon79 I did it for the muff... Supporting Member

Dec 20, 2012
    Chicago IL