What will a new/better bass get me?

Discussion in 'Basses [BG]' started by DJS, Dec 6, 2021.

1. DJS

DJS Supporting Member

Feb 10, 2010
    Rochester, NY
    I play the most simplistic of basses - a 2010 American Standard Precision. It's been my only "real' bass since I started playing 13 years ago. It's lasted 10 years of steady band work and never given me a minute of trouble. Recording engineers seem to like the tone. Other seasoned bass players give me a thumbs up when they see it, hear it and try it out. I feel it's not holding me back, and I've never considered getting another one.

My band's guitar player has gone through about 6 $4000+ guitars in that same time. Last night he showed up with a gorgeous new PRS, and my band leader asked "Hey DJS how come you don't get a new $8000 bass?

My answer was "Because I don't think I'd be able to take advantage of the things that make it so nice." Guitar's response "Well, not sure if I can either, but here we are!"

But then I wondered, is this completely true? Could I buy better playing results with a higher end bass like I can readily buy better bike race results with a higher end, faster lighter race bike? It seems to me that I could hand my bass to Victor Wooten and he'd blow the roof off any auditorium without hesitation. Is this a solid rationale for sticking with what works? Or am I missing out?

jdthaddeus, Nebula24, JRA and 14 others like this.
  2. Jeremy Crockett

Jeremy Crockett Amiable Crank Supporting Member

Debt. It will get you $8000 worth of debt. You like what you have, it works for you. If you really want a new bass, why wouldn't a $1500 one do the same job?

3. Obese Chess

Obese Chess Spicy Big Dad Supporting Member

Sep 4, 2005
    Portland, OR