Where to go next?

Discussion in 'General Instruction [BG]' started by Splanky, Sep 14, 2004.

1. Splanky

Jun 10, 2002
    Gothenburg Sweden
    Hi TB´ers!

After 10 years of self taught noodling and spending WAY to much money on nice basses and stuff. I have developed a really good ear and a lot of sloppy habits. :crying: I thought it´s about time that i justify my gear and shape up.
    I have signed my self to a course i music theory and harmonics starting today.

Since 2 weeks i have spent 0.5-2 h/day doing right hand techniques. My first goal is to get my index/middle alternating
    i all kinds of situations and also work my speed up.
    So far i have covered Arpeggios up and down the neck. Pentatonic scales, Octaves and so on and so on. Always starting slow and tried to avoid unwanted buzz and noises. I have focused on my right hand so far but kept an eye on my left hand. I have used Wheat´s bassbook as a reference. http://www.wheatdesign.com/bassbook

I have gotten quite a lot better and faster. And also tried to incorporate it while playing songs so it feels natural.
    Have decided that i want to keep my cool and not rush in to new techniques without nailing the ones i practice at the moment. I will continue with my right hand for a while. But i have to start looking forward to what to do with my left hand to make it work better. It´s easy to just play scales without thinking. But i want to leave it and try to incorporate that when my reading skills and understanding of music theory get´s better. And i am in no hurry.
    I have seached through TB and other sites for good practices
    But there are lot´s of highly skilled people here to give me a hint and a push.
    So any suggestions on good left hand techniques.

B.t.w so far no problems with muscles or ligaments. Try to do a proper warm up and also a proper cool down.

Very important! ;)

Sorry am late! Missed the bass!
  2. tim99

tim99 Supporting Member

Jan 28, 2003
  3. tim99