1. Please take 30 seconds to register your free account to remove most ads, post topics, make friends, earn reward points at our store, and more!  

Which amp?

Discussion in 'Amps and Cabs [BG]' started by Michelin, Oct 11, 2009.

1. Michelin

Michelin

Apr 30, 2008
    Juneau, AK
    I'm shopping for a $200-$300 bass amp that is quality, will last me, and can produce the widest array of tones/frequencies/sound styles. I don't know much about bass amps, all I know is that I want one with a big enough variety of tone/sound options. I one hour want to play with a high bunch of trebble and have my bass sound crisp and kind of like like a piano, and the next hour I want to be able to have it sound like a low and heavy bass reinforcing rock/metal music.

Being a bass noob, I'd naturally assume that whichever one has the most knobs is best, but I notice that treble, gain, etc. are on some of these but not all and although I don't know what to make of that, I'd assume that means some of them don't have the widest variety of sound options (which is 90% of what I'm looking for).

So, which is the best for what I'm looking for?

Option 1:
    http://bass-guitars.musiciansfriend.com/product/Marshall-MB30-Bass-Amp-Combo?sku=480304
    [Modern>Volume, "Comp"], [Classic>Volume, "Comp"], Bass, Voice Shift, Voice, Treble.

Option 2:
    http://bass-guitars.musiciansfriend.com/product/Line-6-Lowdown-LD15-Modeling-Bass-Combo?sku=500271
    Drive, Bass, Lo-Mid, Hi-Mid, Treble, "Opto Comp", "Smart FX", Master.

Option 3:
    http://bass-guitars.musiciansfriend.com/product/Acoustic-B100-100W-1x15-Bass-Combo?sku=482900
    Gain, Volume, Frequency, [Equalizer>Low, Low-Mid, Hi-Mid, High]/

2. Woodyrson

Woodyrson Supporting Member

Aug 23, 2009