which Ampeg SVT head to buy?

Discussion in 'Amps and Cabs [BG]' started by jcroxford, Feb 17, 2019.

1. jcroxford

jcroxford

Jan 7, 2017
    Sacramento CA
    I'm new to tubes. I have only ever owned solid state amps including when I used to play guitar. Can anyone explain the difference other then price point (which is considerable) between:
    Ampeg SVT-CL Classic
    Ampeg SVT-VR vintage reissue
    Ampeg SVT-CL Heritage

I'm currently running a Rickenbacker 4003 through portaflex pf800 head & 2 15"portaflex cabs and tons of pedals. I play Doom metal. My guitarist plays through a Sunn Beta lead and Marshal cab. volume wise, I'm cranked and he is blowing me out with his beta on 2 or 3. I demoed a 100w ampeg at guitar center and loved the sound and feel of the tubes. My plan is to aquire a tube head & 8x10 cab.

Last edited: Feb 19, 2019
    SactoBass likes this.
  2. If money is no object I'd get the Heritage CL but any SVT will sound great. Not a bad choice.

10cc and rodl2005 like this.
  3. jcroxford

jcroxford

Jan 7, 2017
    Sacramento CA
    I wouldnt say money is no obect. I just want to know why and what I'm paying for.

4. Both the SVT-CLs are the same amp, the Heritage costs more because it's assembled in the USA and has a few upgraded parts and pricier tubes. But it sounds the same as the classic version. I own both and use them interchangeably (my classic isn't overseas made but they use the same components).

5. Wasnex

Wasnex

Dec 25, 2011
    The VR is meant to be a functional equivalent of a vintage SVT. I has two channels with different voicing and no master volume. In order to get overdrive (OD) you need to push the output tubes fairly hard. Another option would be to use a clean boost to hit the front end of the preamp hard enough to drive the first tube section into OD.