Dismiss Notice

Psst... Ready to join TalkBass and start posting, make new friends, sell your gear, and more?  Register your free account in 30 seconds.

Who the hell is

Discussion in 'Bassists [BG]' started by Joe Nerve, Mar 6, 2005.

1. Joe Nerve

Joe Nerve Supporting Member

Oct 7, 2000
    New York City
    Endorsing artist: Musicman basses, Hipshot products
    Ben Harper's bass player? The really big guy. I'm watching him on TV right now and I'm ready to throw my Bongo out the window. Bass playing is seeming rather pointless at the moment.

2. Aaron Saunders

Aaron Saunders

Apr 27, 2002
    Ontario
    I want to say that his name is Juan Nelson. I'm not sure. I've never heard him play though...just read his section in "Bass Gear" a year or two ago.

3. burk48237

burk48237 Supporting Member

Nov 22, 2004
    Oak Park, MI
    Joe, I'm no expert, but I believe his name is Juan Nelson, I think Bass Player (you know the magazine your always on the cover of!) did a little thing on him a couple of years ago.

4. Joe Nerve

Oct 7, 2000
    New York City
    This guy is a freaking monster - and I really like his style. It's the kind of playing I aspire towards. Looks like I gots to get me some Ben Harper albums - not my favorite music, but worth it's weight in bass. :)

5. James Hart

James Hart

Feb 1, 2002
    toms_river.nj.us
    Endorsing Artist: see profile
    "Live from Mars" is humbling :eek: Check Juan's solo in "Steal my Kisses" The dude shreads while never loosing the monster groove!

6. Fight for Your Mind is awesome (as long as you're looking to buy). In fact, there was a 3 CD set available a few years back that is probably gathering dust in your local music shop. Pick it up.

Mike

7. Jason Carota

Jason Carota Gold Supporting Member

Mar 1, 2002
    Lowell, MA
    Great album, great solo!

8. JimK

JimK

Dec 12, 1999