1. Please take 30 seconds to register your free account to remove most ads, post topics, make friends, earn reward points at our store, and more!  

Why does finger style look so easy?

Discussion in 'Technique [BG]' started by Skel, Dec 6, 2006.

1. Skel

Skel

Jun 19, 2005
    Boulder, Colorado
    I see players all the time that look like they are having no problem whatsoever playing pretty difficult stuff, finger style. Is this just an illusion or are they that good?

2. Maybe they practiced?

3. ErikP.Bass

ErikP.Bass Supporting Member

Nov 23, 2004
    Professionals are really that good. :bassist:

4. Matthew Bryson

Matthew Bryson Guest

Jul 30, 2001
    Why do some guys make playing with a pick look so easy? I've played bass with my fingers ever since I started playing. I have a very hard time playing with a pick and anything difficult that I play, I play with fingers.

5. Skel

Skel

Jun 19, 2005
    Boulder, Colorado
    So it must be that the guys who make finger style look easy have been playing for 15+ years, and don't know any different. It *is* easy for them. I can play with a pick with no effort at all....it's easy. But I've been playing with a pick forever. I've practiced, practiced, practiced finger style and I must be thinking that 1 or 2 years is enough when it isn't. Or maybe I just don't have natural talent finger style.

6. +1

At least with fingers you can damp, play 2 notes and when I panic, slap/pop an octave.- looks cool, fill a hole - means nothing ;)

I mean to start learning to use a pick sometime - honest.

7. Scottgun

Scottgun

Jan 24, 2004
    South Carolina
    After many years you will recognize that playing fast and difficult things (pick or fingers) requires more relaxation than tension. So I suppose when someone is playing with relaxed fingers, it looks like it is easy. Also, their muscles are trained and do things automatically.

8. Jazz Ad

Jazz Ad Mi la ré sol