1. Please take 30 seconds to register your free account to remove most ads, post topics, make friends, earn reward points at our store, and more!  

TalkBass.com has been uniting the low end since 1998.  Join us! :)

why play 5 string bass?

Discussion in 'General Instruction [BG]' started by sickboyxxx, Mar 12, 2013.

1. sickboyxxx

sickboyxxx

Feb 14, 2013
    Detroit
    i recently started playing bass after playing guitar for many years, i play in a slayer/hatebreed type band, i play a 4 string bass but i feel the urge to play a 5 string bass, could anyone tell me pros and cons of switching from 4 to 5?

2. Phil Smith

Phil Smith Mr Sumisu 2 U

May 30, 2000
    Peoples Republic of Brooklyn
    Creator of: iGigBook for Android/iOS
    You don't need pros or cons, just do it if you want to or if you need the lower notes or just try it to see if you like it.

exidor and Orangeclawhammr like this.
  3. yup.

if your considering it, try it.

its not like back in the day when 5 strings were rare or uncommon or hated on or whatever. they're totally normal, and quite practical.

4. basscase42

basscase42

Jul 12, 2012
    There's nothing wrong with switching to a 5-er, just an extra string to get used to. It gives you a bit of extra lower notes too.

5. rhino333

rhino333 Supporting Member

Jan 31, 2005
    Western NY State
    I play a 5 for a couple of reasons:

• It gives me more note position choices.
    • It allows me to fret lower notes on the B which makes it easier on my fretting hand shoulder which has arthritis (I don't have to stretch for lower notes).

JLY, Bob Clayton and exidor like this.
  6. Ric5

Ric5 Supporting Member Commercial User

Jan 29, 2008
    Colorado
    I convert 4 string Rickenbackers to 5 string basses.
    the 5 string bass is the best way to get an extended low range and still have the other 4 strings the same.

7. SirMjac28

SirMjac28 Patiently Waiting For The Next British Invasion Gold Supporting Member

Aug 25, 2010