Psst... Ready to join TalkBass and start posting, make new friends, sell your gear, and more?  Register your free account in 30 seconds.

Why these notes and not the other ones

Discussion in 'General Instruction [BG]' started by Mike88T, May 10, 2004.

1. I know, stupid title for this thread and I also have read enough that I probably won't understand several of the responses but it is a question that comes up in my mind sometimes and the song we are about to put into our set illustrates it very well so I am going to ask.

Ok the song is Time of the Season doesn't matter if you don't know it for illustration purposes.

This is the TAB (yes I know tab bad) that I got to get an idea of the notes and after playing it for a while acoustically since I don't have my amp here at home I just thought it sounded too tinny so I started playing it like in the second example. Still just E B D but what’s the difference? I guess what I am asking is why is the first tab right and the second one wrong, or is it.

G|----------------------------------|----------------------------------|
    D|-2-----------2---------------0---|-2-----------2---------------0----|
    A|-------------------------2--------|-------------------------2--------|
    E|----------------------------------|----------------------------------|

G|----------------------------------|----------------------------------|
    D|----------------------------------|----------------------------------|
    A|-7----------7----------------5----|-7----------7----------------5----|
    E|------------------------7---------|-------------------------7--------|

2. They are identical, same exact notes in the same octave, different tonal qualities dpending on where you play it but same notes.

3. Hurley

Hurley

Feb 12, 2004
    Cape Cod, MA