1. Please take 30 seconds to register your free account to remove most ads, post topics, make friends, earn reward points at our store, and more!  

TalkBass.com has been uniting the low end since 1998.  Join us! :)

You guys are gonna hate me

Discussion in 'Miscellaneous [BG]' started by DaDrew2112, Jan 17, 2012.

1. DaDrew2112

DaDrew2112

Apr 7, 2011
    Rochester
    I want to start a project, but I'm not sure whether I want to play bass or guitar. I have a singer, and he attempts guitar but he just started and is "too cheap" to get a teacher, which boggles my mind but alas, i digress. Anyway, there's no question that I'm a better bassist than i am guitarist. But I sort of am toying with the guitar role because I'm trying to write songs and whatnot. I come up with cool riffs on bass and guitar which are the source of my writing (think like 2005 arctic monkeys, queens of the stone age, and weezer in a blender). I don't know, I can't get up the gumption to truly decide and dedicate to one. Being a bassist is what i do best, and i've heard guitarists are easier to get. On the other hand, I can really stretch my melodic abilities as a guitar player and play a parts of music i never before. I'm only a senior in high school so i figure if i screw the pooch at least i have time to get another thing going. Thoughts anyone?

2. Why would we hate you for wanting to branch out and do something new??
    I say if you want to play guitar, more power to ya!

3. MEKer

MEKer Supporting member

May 30, 2006
    keep up your bass chops and develop your guitar skills. That dot at the end of the sentence is a PERIOD!

Good luck and happy playing.

4. Why must it be a choice? I play both and a few other things besides.

5. DaDrew2112

DaDrew2112

Apr 7, 2011
    Rochester