1. Please take 30 seconds to register your free account to remove most ads, post topics, make friends, earn reward points at our store, and more!  

1963 Les Paul Gibson Maya Bass

Discussion in 'Basses [BG]' started by linbell11, Dec 11, 2011.

1. linbell11

linbell11

Dec 11, 2011
    I recently acquired a 1963 Les Paul Gibson Maya bass...was wondering if anyone has seen one or knows anything about it. I have read about Fender and Rick copies, but have not seen anything on this style Maya bass.

2. Hi.

Welcome to TalkBass linbell11.

I haven't seen one, but I'd hope to.

So, pics would be nice ;).

Regards
    Sam

3. linbell11

linbell11

Dec 11, 2011
    Here ya go. I'm new to this, so I hope I attached the pic correctly.
    Thanks

Attached Files:

4. Hawkbone

Hawkbone

Mar 23, 2009
    Newfoundland
    Nice! can you do some closeups?

5. johnk_10

johnk_10 vintage bass nut Supporting Member Commercial User

Feb 16, 2008
    Thousand Oaks, CA
    John K Custom Basses
    well, it's obviously not a Gibson. looks like a MIJ LP bass from the 70's judging by its bolt on neck, TRC, inlays, tuning keys and bridge.

6. Yeah I cant see that being a 63

7. capnjim

capnjim

Mar 13, 2008
    yeah, 70's MIJ for sure.

8. Randall

Randall

Aug 6, 2009
    Canada.
    Maya or El Maya is made in Japan. I have a Ric 4001s copy made by them. El Maya was supposed to be a higher quality model.

9. cdef

cdef

Jul 18, 2003
    This gets a little involved... It appears that Maya was a brand first produced by the Matsumoto Musical Instruments Manufacturers Association, but distributed and later (1976) acquired outright by the trading house Rokkomann. Mayas were then built at their factory in Kobe until it was destroyed by an earthquake in the 90's. Imports to the UK were rebranded e.g. Avon (Rose Morris) or Columbus. Quality was average for the time.